Schroon Landmark Inn For Sale

Schroon Lake’s Lakeview Inn, a 1891 fully renovated farmhouse with many stand-alone units is for sale. Owner Patti Mehm is selling the year round home and seasonal business she acquired in 2003.

The property has been continually upgraded since then and now features an owner’s residence with full kitchen, a hotel unit over the office, four efficiency Units (all newly remodeled in 2014), four Inn/hotel style boutique rooms -- most with Jacuzzi’s & Fireplaces.

Then there are three detached cabins built in 2009 and a hotel style room with a private entrance. Patti has decided to sell the property to concentrate on her Towne Store and popular Barley and Vine Wine Tasting Bar, which opened last year.

“The Inn business is turnkey. We have regulars who come each year and a proven track record of steady income,” Patti told us before taking off for a well-earned break.


“It’s an ideal business for anyone who would like a home to live in, and have a revenue stream.” 

Indeed, a check of their upcoming reservations on their website shows multiple bookings for the 2016 season.

The property, just south of the village on Route 9, has deeded beach access and is just minutes from everything Schroon has to offer. The farmhouse and property features a rich history. From Patti:

“Even though it has undergone many changes in recent times, the Inn has a long lodging history and has stayed very much the same.    A few years back we met a wonderfully charming woman, Frances Bogle whose great grandfather built the homestead which her family operated until 1976 (an amazing 95 years of hosting what would be known as a Bed & Breakfast today).   Frances, who is a very vibrant 92 years young, provided us with extensive history, valuable memories and wonderful pictures. The original homestead was built in 1881, by Captain William Lycett.

William  was a Captain in the Civil War and purchased the  property with his muster from the war. It was run as a lodging house, called Spring Valley Farms for many years.  From 1910 – 1927 it was leased to a boy’s camp called Camp Mondawmin, then later to the Cambridge Tutoring School for rich boys. Fran’s grandparents and parents ran it as Lycett’s Rooms & Cottages and would be considered a Bed & Breakfast today.  Fran and her two sisters grew up and went to school in Schroon Lake".

“It’s sad to say goodbye, but it’s now onto another chapter of life,” Patti said.

You can email Patti by clicking here, or call  (518) 791-3578. The property is listed as a For Sale By Owner.